Veeam Home | Support | Downloads
Veeam Backup & Replication 8.0 for VMware

Veeam Backup & Replication Help Center  > User Guide >  Overview > Backup > Retention Policy > Retention Policy for Deleted VMs

Retention Policy for Deleted VMs

Previous page Next page Print this Topic

Table of contents

In some situations, after you configure and run backup jobs in Veeam Backup & Replication, you may want to change something in your virtual environment or even in your backup strategy. For example, you may remove some VMs from the virtual infrastructure or move them to another location. You may also exclude some VMs from jobs that have already been run for some time.

By default, when you remove a VM protected by Veeam Backup & Replication from the virtual infrastructure or exclude it from a job, its backup files still remain on the backup repository. To avoid keeping redundant data on disk, you can select to control retention policy for deleted VMs.

retention_policy_deleted_vms

The retention policy for deleted VMs is an option in the backup job settings. To use this option, you need to select the Remove deleted VMs data from backup after check box and specify the desired period of time for which data for deleted VMs must be retained on the backup repository.

With this option enabled, Veeam Backup & Replication will check the list of VMs included in the job when a job starts. If a VM is no longer available, for example, it was deleted or moved to another location, Veeam Backup & Replication will keep its data in the backup file for the specified period only. As soon as the specified retention period is over, data of the deleted VM will be removed from backup files on the backup repository.

warning

IMPORTANT!

Retention policy for deleted VMs is applied only to reverse incremental backup chains and forward incremental backup chains for which synthetic full backups with subsequent transform is enabled.

Table of contents