Step 3. Choose Restore Mode

In this article

    At the Restore Mode step of the wizard, choose whether you want to restore Azure VMs to the original or a new location, and select a service account that will be used for restore:

    1. Choose where to restore VMs:
    • To restore VMs with initial settings to their original location, select Restore to the original location.

    If you select this option, you will proceed to the Reason step of the wizard.

    • To restore VMs to a different location or with different settings (such as subscription, network settings and so on), select Restore to a new location, or with different settings.

    If you select this option, the Restore to Microsoft Azure wizard will include additional steps for specifying the target Azure region and VM settings.

    1. To select a service account, click Pick account to use and, in the Account window, select the account that will be used for restore. This account must have permissions listed in Required Permissions.

    For a service account to be displayed in the drop-down list, it must be added as described in the Adding Azure Service Account section in the Veeam Backup for Microsoft Azure User Guide.

    Step 3. Choose Restore Mode