Help Center
Choose product document...
Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5
Enterprise Manager User Guide

Performing 1-Click VM Restore

Authorized users can restore the VMs included in their scope with a single click.

Performing 1-Click VM Restore Important!

  1. This functionality is available in Enterprise or Enterprise Plus edition of Veeam Backup & Replication.
  2. 1-Click VM Restore from any storage snapshot is not supported by Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager.

Users with Portal Administrator role have no scope limitations; they can restore VMs to their original location. Restore scope for other users is defined as described in the Configuring Restore Scope section.

To restore a VM from backup, take the following steps:

  1. On the VMs tab, locate the necessary VM backup in the list of VMs displayed, or use search by VM name.
  2. For the selected VM backup, click the Restore button to view available restore points.
  3. Select the point that will be used to restore the VM.

Performing 1-Click VM Restore Note:

Currently, Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager supports VM restore to its original location only. If the VM exists in the production environment, consider that it will be shut down and replaced by VM from backup that will be restored to the original (production) location.

  1. Additionally, you can select to Power on VM after restoring or Quick rollback (restore changed blocks only) option. For VMware VMs, you can also select to Restore VM tags.

Performing 1-Click VM Restore 

  1. After you click Restore, you will get a message notifying you of the operation effect (VM from backup will replace production VM, if present in the original location). Click Proceed or Cancel the operation.

You can view VM restore progress in the VMs page after you click View history.

Similar steps can be taken to fail over to replica VM:

  1. On the VMs tab, locate the necessary VM processed by replication job.
  1. Click the Restore button on the toolbar to view available restore point, and select the restore point you need.
  1. By default, the VM will be powered on after restoring. Additionally, you can select the Quick rollback (restore changed blocks only) option.
  2. Click Restore, then confirm the operation of the production VM deletion, or Cancel the operation.
Veeam Large Logo

User Guide for VMware vSphere

User Guide for Microsoft Hyper-V

Enterprise Manager User Guide

Veeam Cloud Connect Guide

Veeam Backup Explorers User Guide

Backup and Restore of SQL Server Databases

PowerShell Reference

RESTful API Reference

Veeam Backup FREE Edition User Guide

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365

Veeam ONE Documentation

Veeam Agent for Windows Documentation

Veeam Agent for Linux Documentation

Veeam Management Pack Documentation