Using Jobs tab of the vSphere self-service web portal, you can perform the following operations with vSphere backup jobs:
- Create a new vSphere backup job
- Start, stop or retry a job
- Disable or enable a job
- Edit job settings
- Delete jobs
To create a new vSphere backup job:
- Go to the Jobs tab of the self-service web portal and click Create.
- Specify job name, description and retention settings, that is, how many restore points should be stored in repository for future restores.
For more information, see the Retention Policy section of the Veaam Backup and Replication User Guide.
- Add VMs from the vSphere to the job.
- Follow the wizard steps to configure other settings available to you (guest processing, schedule, notifications on job completion). These steps are described in detail in the Editing Job Settings sections of this guide.
This job will automatically be targeted to the repository that is assigned to the user. Remaining settings (processing mode, etc.) will be obtained from the job template assigned by Enterprise Manager administrator to this vSphere user.
Other job management actions are performed as described in the procedures for the standard Enterprise Manager UI:
To delete a job, select the job on the Jobs tab and click Job > Delete on the toolbar. After deletion, this job will be removed from configuration and no longer appear in web portal.
Information about deleted jobs will be removed from Veeam Backup configuration database (and Enterprise Manager database, as well), and these jobs will no longer appear in the UI. If you agreed to delete backup files, they will be removed from backup repository.
Job cloning is not available.