Help Center
Choose product document...
Veeam Backup Free Edition 9.5
User Guide

Performing Entire VM Restore

You can restore an entire VM and start it on the target host if necessary.

A VM can be restored to its original location or to a new location:

  • When you restore a VM to its original location, you keep the original VM settings. The primary VM is automatically turned off and deleted before the restore. This type of restore ensures the quickest recovery and minimizes the number of mistakes that can be caused by changes in VM settings.
  • When you restore a VM to a new location, you need to specify new VM settings such as a new VM name, a host and volume where the VM will reside and network properties. Veeam Backup Free Edition will change the VM configuration file and store the VM data to the location of your choice.

Before restoring a VM from the backup, check prerequisites. Then use the Full VM Restore wizard to restore the necessary VM.

  1. Choose a file
  2. Select a VM
  3. Select a restore point
  4. Select a restore mode
  5. Select a destination host for a restored VM
  6. Select a destination datastore
  7. Select a destination network
  8. Select a destination folder and change the VM name
  9. Verify recovery settings
Veeam Large Logo

User Guide

User Guide for VMware vSphere

User Guide for Microsoft Hyper-V

Enterprise Manager User Guide

Veeam Cloud Connect Guide

Veeam Backup Explorers User Guide

PowerShell Reference

RESTful API Reference

Veeam ONE Documentation

Veeam Endpoint Backup Documentation

Veeam Management Pack Documentation