--- title: "Resetting Storage Plans" description: "After you run a storage plan and it acquires the FAILOVER state, you must reset the plan if you wish to run it again (for example, to perform failback)." canonical: "https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/vro/userguide/resetting_storage_plans.html" breadcrumb: "User Guide > Working with Recovery Plans > Working with Storage Plans > Running and Scheduling Storage Plans > Resetting Storage Plans" dateModified: "2026-08-26" --- # Resetting Storage Plans After you run a storage plan and it acquires the *FAILOVER* state, you must reset the plan if you wish to run it again (for example, to [perform failback](storage_failback.md)). The **Reset** action returns the plan to the *DISABLED* state and updates the Orchestrator database to reflect the changes made to the location of VMs included in the plan. The configuration of plan steps and their parameter settings in this case remain the same. You may also require to reset a storage plan if the plan becomes inconsistent with the virtual environment. This will return the plan to the *DISABLED* state, without making any changes to the external virtual infrastructure. To reset a storage plan: 1. Navigate to **Recovery Plans**. 2. Select the plan and click **Reset**. 3. In the **Reset Plan** window, do the following: 1. For security purposes, retype your password and click **Next**. 2. Select the **Run a quick check after reset is complete** check box to run a [readiness check](running_readiness_check.md) after the reset. 3. Review configuration information and click **Reset**. [![Resetting Restore Plan](images/reset_storage.png "Resetting Restore Plan")](images/reset_storage.png){.toggle scale=65}