Step 3. Choose Restore Mode

In this article

    At the Restore Mode step of the wizard, choose whether you want to restore VM instances to the original or new location:

    • To restore VM instances with initial settings to the original location, select the Restore to the original location option. Note that the original VM instances will be automatically powered off and removed from Compute Engine after the restore process completes successfully.

    If you select this option, you will proceed to the Reason step of the wizard.

    Note

    The Restore to the original location option is disabled in the following cases:

    • The original VM instance has local SSD disks and it still exists in the original location.
    • If the deletionProtection flag is enabled for the original VM instance.
    • To restore VM instances to a different location or with different settings, select the Restore to a new location, or with different settings option.

    If you select this option, the Restore to Google Compute Engine wizard will include additional steps for specifying the target region and VM instance settings.

    Step 3. Choose Restore Mode