Deleting Backups

In this article

    You have the following options to delete backups:

    • Remove from configuration remove records about backups from the Veeam Backup & Replication console and configuration databases. In this case, backup files are not deleted from the repository, and you can import the backups later. For more information on this option, see the Veeam Backup & Replication User Guide, section Removing Backups from Configuration.
    • Remove form disk permanently delete backup files from backup repositories and remove records about backups from the Veeam Backup & Replication console and configuration databases. For more information on this option, see the Veeam Backup & Replication User Guide, section Deleting Backups from Disk.

    Note that you can delete backup files for a specific VM only as described in the Veeam Backup & Replication User Guide, section Deleting VM from Backups.

    Important

    Do not delete backup files from backup repositories manually. This may cause backup job failures and restore point corruption.

    Deleting Backups in Veeam Backup & Replication Console

    To delete a backup in the Veeam Backup & Replication console, do the following:

    1. Open the Home view.
    2. In the inventory pane of the Home view, select Backups.
    3. In the working area, right-click the backup and choose whether you want to remove the backup form configuration or to delete backup files.

    Important

    After you delete a backup in the Veeam Backup & Replication console, you must perform the backup import operation in the RHV backup proxy web console to see the changes.

    Deleting Backups

    Deleting Backups in Web Console

    To delete a backup in the RHV backup proxy web console do the following:

    1. Switch to the Protected VMs page.
    2. Click View as tree to see detailed information about backup jobs.
    3. Click the backup job name to see the backed-up VMs and their restore points.
    4. Select a VM whose restore points you want to delete, or a specific restore point.

    Important

    If you select all VM restore points for deleting, backup files will be removed from the repository.

    If at least one VM restore point remains in the backup chain, only records about deleted backups are removed, and backup files remain available in the repository.

    1. Click Delete.

    After you delete a backup in the RHV backup proxy web console, the Veeam Backup & Replication database will be automatically synchronized with the RHV backup proxy database to update the backup.

    Deleting Backups