Running HPE Storage Failover

In this article

    Tip

    After an HPE storage plan enters the FAILOVER state, you will have to perform a number of additional steps if you want to switch from the recovered VMs back to the VMs running on primary volumes. To make the failback process easier, it is recommended that you enable the auto synchronize option for the remote copy group before you run the plan. To learn how to enable the auto synchronize option, see the Hewlett Packard Enterprise Support Center.

    To run an HPE storage plan:

    1. Select the plan. From the Launch menu, select Run.

    -OR-

    Click the plan name to switch to the Plan Details page, and click Run.

    1. Complete the Run Plan wizard:
    1. [This step applies only if you have not enabled the plan before running it]

    At the Plan Disabled step, select the Enable this Plan check box to enable the plan. You will not be able to proceed with the wizard unless you select the check box.

    Running Storage Failover

    1. For security purposes, at the Enter Credentials step, retype the Orchestrator Administrator or Plan Operator password.

    Running Storage Failover

     

    Note

    For HPE storage plans, the Run Plan wizard does not offer you to choose a restore point that will be used to recover VMs. By design, Orchestrator will always use the most recent replicated data. This is a limitation of HPE storage systems.

    1. [This step applies only if you have any other orchestration plans scheduled to run after the plan completes]

    At the Chained Plans step, select the Also execute the chained plans check box to proceed to execution of subsequent plans after the current plan enters the FAILOVER state.

    Running Storage Failover

    1. At the Latest Readiness Check step, review the results of the most recent readiness check run for the plan to make sure the plan can complete successfully.

    Running Storage Failover

    1. At the Summary step, review configuration information and click Finish.

    The plan goal is to reach the FAILOVER state. If any critical error is encountered, the plan will stop with the HALTED state. To learn how to work with HALTED storage plans, see Managing Halted Plans.

    Tip

    After the storage failover process completes, Orchestrator will leave the plan in the IN USE state. By design, this makes the results of the storage failover process accessible in the Orchestrator UI as long as required, and also prevents the plan from being modified by any automatic updates related to infrastructure changes.

    If you want to perform any further actions with the plan (for example, to test the plan, to run readiness checks or to execute the plan again), reset the plan state as described in section Resetting Storage Plans.