Removing Backup Repositories
Veeam Backup for Google Cloud allows you to permanently remove backup repositories if you no longer need them. When you remove a backup repository, Veeam Backup for Google Cloud unassigns the repository from the target storage bucket subdirectory so that the subdirectory is no longer used as a repository.
Even though the storage bucket subdirectory is no longer used as a repository, Veeam Backup for Google Cloud preserves all backups previously stored in the repository and keeps these backups in Google Cloud Storage. You can assign the subdirectory to a new backup repository so that Veeam Backup for Google Cloud imports the backed-up data to the configuration database. In this case, you will be able to perform all disaster recovery operations described in section Performing Restore.
If you no longer need the backed-up data, you can remove it as described in section Removing Backups and Snapshots.
To remove a backup repository from Veeam Backup for Google Cloud, do the following:
- Switch to the Configuration page.
- Navigate to Repositories.
- Select the repository and click Remove.
You cannot remove a backup repository that is used by any backup policy or by a scheduled configuration backup. Modify the settings of all the related policies to remove references to the repository, change the configuration backup schedule — and then try removing the repository again.