Deleting Connection to Veeam Backup Server

In this article

    You can delete a connection to the Veeam backup server to which Veeam Agent is currently connected. When you delete a connection to a Veeam backup server, Veeam Agent removes record on the deleted backup server from its database. Veeam backup repositories managed by the deleted backup server are removed from the list of available backup repositories. Backup files created by backup jobs targeted these repositories remain intact on the backup storage.

    You cannot delete a connection to the Veeam backup server in the following situations:

    • Veeam Agent operates in the managed mode. To delete connection to the Veeam backup server, reset Veeam Agent to the standalone mode. For details, see Resetting to Standalone Operation Mode.
    • Veeam Agent has a backup job that saves backup files to a repository managed by this backup server. To remove such connection to the Veeam backup server, you first need to delete reference to the Veeam backup repository in the job settings.

    To delete a connection to the Veeam backup server, use the following command:

    veeamconfig vbrserver delete --name <vbr_name>

    or

    veeamconfig vbrserver delete --id <vbr_id>

    where:

    • <vbr_name> — name of the Veeam backup server.
    • <vbr_id> — ID of the Veeam backup server.

    For example:

    user@wrk01:~$ veeamconfig vbrserver delete --name vbr01