Restoring Files to Original Location
In this restore scenario, Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager extracts the object (file or folder) from the backup and restores it to the original production machine. Restoring guest OS files to the original location is the most secure file recovery method, as the user who initiates the file restore operation in the Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager web UI cannot access the file itself.
This type of restore is only possible if the original machine is powered on and resides in the original location.
To restore a file or folder to the original location:
- Locate the necessary object using browse or search possibilities of Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager. Multiple selection is also possible. For details, see Browsing Machine Backups for Guest OS Files or Searching Machine Backups for Guest OS Files.
- Click Restore and select how to restore selected files:
- If you select Overwrite, the object from the backup will replace the original object on the target machine.
- If you select Keep, the object from the backup will be restored next to the original object on the target machine. The restored object will have the _RESTORED_<DATE>_<TIME> prefix in its name, where <DATE>_<TIME> is the restore date and time.
- [For Microsoft Windows] If you select Permissions Only, you will restore file (or folder) permissions that were granted to users and groups to access the object. You can restore permissions only if the object exists on the target machine.
- In the displayed window, click Yes.
Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager will start the restore operation and display the progress and result of the operation in the File Restore History view.
By default, guest file restore to the original location is performed using the account specified in the backup job for guest OS access. If it does not have sufficient rights to access the target machine, you are prompted for the credentials. Specify user account and password, as required. For more information, see Guest OS Credentials.