Deleting VMs and vApps from Backups

You can delete a VM from the vApp. If the selected VM is the last one in its vApp, the VM will be deleted from the backup with its vApp. If this vApp is the last one in its backup, the whole backup will be deleted.

Consider the following:

  • If you delete a VM that has GFS backups, they will not be deleted. You can delete them in Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager. For more information, see Deleting Machine from Backup.
  • If four-eyes authorization is enabled on the backup server, backup files will remain in the backup repository and become orphaned.

To delete a VM, take the following steps:

  1. On the VMs tab, select a VM. To quickly find the necessary VM, use the search field at the top of the window.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. Click Yes to confirm the deletion.

When you remove data for deleted VMs from per-VM backup chains, it does not mark the space as available but deletes backup files since they contain data for one VM only.

When you remove data for deleted VMs from regular backup chains, the space is not freed up on the backup repository. It is marked as available to be overwritten, and this space is overwritten during subsequent job sessions or the backup file compact operation.

Veeam Self-Service Backup Portal Accessed by URL