On the VMs tab of the vSphere self-service portal you can:
You can restore vSphere VMs to the original (production) location using flexible restore options. To restore a VM, do the following:
- On the VMs tab, locate the necessary VM backup in the list of VMs displayed, or search by VM name.
- For the selected VM backup, click Restore VM button, then select the option you need:
- Select the Overwrite option if you want to replace the VM in production. The current state of the VM will be deleted.
- Select the Keep option if you want to save the current state of the VM. The restored VM will be located next to the original production VM and will have the same name with the _restored suffix added to the VM name.
- Select the restore point that will be used to restore the VM.
- You can select additional options for the VM restore:
- Select the Power on VM after restoring option if you want to turn on the VM once it is restored.
- Select the Quick rollback (restore changed blocks only) option if you want to restore only the changed data. This option is available only for VMs which were protected with the Changed Blocks Tracking (CBT) option.
- Select the Restore VM tags option if you want to restore the vSphere VM tags of the VM.
- After you click Restore, you will get a message notifying you of the operation effect (VM from backup will replace production VM, if present in the original location). Click Proceed or Cancel the operation.
You can view VM restore progress in the VMs tab after you click View history.
To delete a VM, select the VM and click Delete. Press Yes in the Delete VM window.
When you remove data for deleted VMs from per-VM backup chains, it does not mark the space as available but deletes backup files since they contain data for 1 VM only.
When you remove data for deleted VMs from regular backup chains, it does not free up space on the backup repository. It marks the space as available to be overwritten, and this space is overwritten during subsequent job sessions or the backup file compact operation.