Archive Tier Data Transfer
You can move outdated backup files from the capacity tier or performance tier to the archive tier. After that, the transported files are deleted from the capacity tier or performance tier. They can stay in the performance tier or be deleted from there depending on the data transfer policy of the scale-out backup repository:
- In case the copy policy is selected (the outdated backup files are copied from the performance tier to the capacity tier), the original file stays in the performance tier.
- In case the move policy is selected (the outdated backup files are transferred from the performance tier to the capacity tier), the original file disappears from the performance tier.
- In case you transfer data from the performance tier to the archive tier, the original file disappears from the performance tier.
Data transfer policy
Copy of the file
The transferred file
Without capacity tier
The transferred file
Data transfer from the capacity extent or the performance extent to the archive extent is done through archiver appliances — temporary virtual machines. The template for all the archiver appliances is set up at the Archiver Appliance step of the Adding Amazon S3 Glacier or Adding Azure Archive Storage wizard.
You can either create the archiver appliance with the default settings, or specify the archiver appliance settings manually: set up the size of the virtual machine and cloud resources where the archiver appliance will be created.
Veeam Backup & Replication must be able to connect to the machine that you will use as an archiver appliance. Therefore, if your backup server is not located within the Public Cloud (AWS or Microsoft Azure), you must configure public IP addresses for the Amazon subnet or Azure virtual network in which the appliance resides. For more information on configuring the subnet for Amazon VPC, see AWS Documentation. For more information on configuring the Azure virtual network, see Microsoft Docs.
After the archiving job is finished, all the archiver appliances are automatically deleted. If the job ends prematurely, the archiver appliances will be deleted as well. Also, any archiver appliance can be deleted if there are no more tasks for it.