Seeding Backups to Azure Blob Storage

In this article

    To reduce the load on the network during the initial synchronization of backup files to Azure, you can use capabilities of Azure Data Box.

    Azure Data Box is a storage device that you order from Microsoft. It emulates a cloud storage endpoint on-premises.

    After the initial setup, backup data is offloaded to Azure Data Box. The storage device is then shipped back, and its contents are uploaded to your Azure storage account.

    To learn more about ordering Azure Data Box, see Azure Storage Documentation.

    Note

    Veeam Backup & Replication supports only those Azure Data Box devices that are capable of reading and writing data using REST API. The Azure Data Box disk type is not supported.

    To seed backups to Azure Blob Storage do the following:

    1. Set up Azure Data Box
    2. Add Azure Data Box to the backup infrastructure and then offload the data
    3. Prepare Azure Data Box for shipping
    4. Synchronize the seeded data

    Setting up Azure Data Box

    Before you add Azure Data Box to Veeam Backup & Replication, you need to set up the storage.

    To learn more about installing Azure Data Box, see Azure Storage Documentation.

    To learn more about connecting to Azure Data Box via REST APIs, see Azure Storage Documentation.

    After you perform the steps in the Azure Storage Documentation, you will have a storage account name, access key, and blob service endpoint that can be used to connect to Veeam Backup & Replication.

    Adding Azure Data Box and Offloading the Data

    To offload backups to Azure Data Box, do the following:

    1. Add Azure Data Box as an Azure Blob storage as described in Adding Azure Blob Storage.
    2. Add the Azure Blob storage that you have created in the previous step as the capacity tier in a scale-out backup repository.
      Keep in mind that you have to select the Copy backups to object storage as soon as they are created check box.
    3. Press and hold  the [ CTRL ] key, right-click the scale-out backup repository from the previous step and select Run tiering job now.

    Important

    When you configure a scale-out backup repository with Azure Data Box as the capacity extent, it is recommended to only use the copy policy. This way you keep copy of the data on your local storage which helps you reduce the risk of data loss if the device is damaged during shipping. It will also ensure that the backup data is available for restore operations while Azure Data Box is in shipment.

    Preparing Azure Data Box for Shipping

    Before shipping Azure Data Box back to Microsoft, do the following:

    1. Put an object storage repository that is associated with Azure Data Box into the maintenance mode, as described in Switching to Maintenance Mode.
    2. Perform the steps described in this Microsoft article.

    After shipping the device, wait for Microsoft to receive it and copy your data into your Azure storage account. You will be notified of successful data upload to your Azure storage account.

    Synchronizing the Seeded Data

    To connect Veeam Backup & Replication to your Azure storage account, do the following:

    1. Add an Azure Blob storage, as described in Adding Azure Blob Storage.
    2. Edit the scale-out backup repository used for offloading the data, and change your Azure Data Box object storage to the Azure Blob storage that you have created in the previous step.
    3. Enable importing backups from Azure Blob storage and wait for the synchronization to complete.
    4. Remove Azure Data Box object storage from Veeam Backup & Replication, as described in Removing Object Storage Repository.

    Note

    Keep in mind that if you delete individual VMs from your backup in the period between mailing Azure Data Box and adding Azure Blob Storage, you may need to run Active Full instead of Incremental job after the final Azure synchronization. To avoid this, do not delete any VMs manually and disable the Retention Policy for Deleted Items option in the job settings for that period. After successful synchronization, you can re-enable this option and work as usual.