Removing Backups from Configuration

If you want to remove records about backups from the Veeam Backup & Replication console and configuration database, you can use the Remove from configuration operation.

When you remove a backup from the configuration, backup files remain in the backup repository. You can import the backup to Veeam Backup & Replication at any time later and restore data from it.

When you remove an encrypted backup from configuration, Veeam Backup & Replication removes encryption keys from the configuration database. If you import such a backup on the same backup server or another backup server, you will have to specify the password or unlock the backup with Veeam Backup Enterprise Manager. For more information, see Importing Encrypted Backups.

To remove a backup from the configuration:

  1. Open the Home view.
  2. In the inventory pane, select the Backups node.
  3. In the working area, press the [Ctrl] key, right-click the backup that you want to remove and select Remove from configuration.

Important

Removing backups from configuration is designed for experienced users only. Consider using Deleting Backups from Disk or Detaching Backups from Jobs operations.

Create an encrypted configuration backup before removing backups from the configuration.

Click to zoom in

Page updated 2/8/2024

Page content applies to build 12.1.2.172