Step 11. Finalize Instant Recovery

In this article

    After the VMs have been successfully recovered, you must finalize the process. For this, test the recovered VMs and decide whether to migrate them to production environment or stop publishing.

    Testing Recovered VMs

    To test the recovered VMs before you migrate them to production, you can launch VMware Remote Console software from the Veeam Backup & Replication console.

    Important

    Before you launch VMware Remote Console, make sure that this software is installed on the machine where the Veeam Backup & Replication console runs.

    To open a VM console in Veeam Backup & Replication:

    1. Open the Home view.
    2. In the inventory pane, select the Instant Recovery node.
    3. In the working area, right-click a VM and select Open VM console.

    Step 11. Finalize Instant Recovery 

    Migrating Recovered VMs

    If the VMs were recovered successfully, you can migrate them to the production environment.

    To migrate a recovered VM to the production environment:

    1. Open the Home view.
    1. In the inventory pane, select the Instant Recovery node.
    1. In the working area, right-click a VM and select Migrate to production. Veeam Backup & Replication will launch the Quick Migration wizard.

    During migration, Veeam Backup & Replication will restore the VM from the backup file and additionally move all changes that were made while the VM was running from the backup in the Instant Recovery mode.

    If you have launched Instant Recovery to a different location and you want to protect the recovered VM after migration finishes, you need to add the recovered VM to a backup job manually. If you have launched Instant Recovery to the original location, your actions depend on the method used for migration and whether the Delete source VM files upon successful migration check box is enabled in the migration wizard. For more information, see Finish Working with the Quick Migration Wizard.

    Step 11. Finalize Instant Recovery 

    Stop Publishing Recovered VMs

    If your tests have failed, you can stop publishing the recovered VMs. This will remove the recovered VMs from the host that you selected as the destination for recovery. Note that all changes made in the recovered VMs will be lost.

    To stop publishing a recovered VM:

    1. Open the Home view.
    2. In the inventory pane, select the Instant Recovery node.
    3. In the working area, right-click a VM and select Stop publishing.

    Click to zoom in