Restoring Files and Folders to Original Location

To restore files and folders to the original location:

  1. Select the necessary files and folders in the working area.
  2. Right-click one of the selected items and select one of the following:
  • To save the restored files and folders next to the original ones, select Restore > Keep.

Veeam Backup & Replication will add the RESTORED_YYYYMMDD_HHMMSS postfix to the original names and store the restored items in the same folder where the original items reside.

  • To overwrite the original files and folders with the ones restored from the backup, select Restore > Overwrite.
  • To restore only NTFS permissions of the original files and folders, select Restore > Permissions only.

This option is available only for backups of Microsoft Windows computers.

Alternatively, you can select the same commands on the ribbon.

Restore to Original Location - Web UI

Page updated 2026-08-21

Page content applies to build 13.1.1.18